TACA Board met at Square One Studios on Saturday 21 October 2018, prior to the AGM.

A Call for Expressions of Interest for a ceramics group or community to hold the Australian Ceramics Triennale in 2022 was made public in September. The response has been strong with communication progressing.

The JAC Launch at Perth Studio Potters is imminent and organisation is in place for a great day of demonstrations, talks and panel discussions on Sunday 25 November. Editor Vicki Grima and Board Director Greg Crowe will run the day’s events.

Organisation for the TACA exhibition at Manly Art Gallery & Museum in 2020 is well underway. The selected Guest Curator Sophia Cai, Board Director Greg Crowe, Executive Officer Vicki Grima and MAG&M Senior Curator Katherine Roberts met to discuss all aspects of the exhibition including curator role; contract conditions between TACA, MAG&M and curator; artist fees; exhibition requirements; call for proposal guidelines; timelines, furniture; freight etc. A Call for Artist Proposals was released in early October and the deadline is 1 March 2019.

TACA finalised two Australian Ceramics Student Scholarships Triennale 2019 with the remaining funds from The Trudie Alfred Bequest and sales of jam donated by Ursula Burgoyne. The pool of applications was strong and the final decision was not an easy one. We found that compelling applications engaged with the Triennale program, identifying synergies between their practices and specific presenters and events. They demonstrated an active engagement with the ceramics community and were enthusiastic about assisting with the running of MANIFEST. They also demonstrated financial need and/or geographical need. Convincing applications were supported by good quality images of work that showed evidence of exploration and experimentation, demonstrated a strong visual language and a unique style. Lauren Covey from USQ Toowoomba, Queensland and Jess Lyons from RMIT, Melbourne, Victoria were the successful applicants. See images below.

Complimentary Indigenous Ceramic Group membership has been offered to seven remote Indigenous ceramic groups. As a result, four groups have taken up the offer: Ernabella Arts (SA), Erub Arts (Darnley Is, QLD), Hermannsburg Potters (NT) & Bnym Indigenous Designs (VIC). We have had really good feedback from them.

The enrolments for the Australian Ceramic Online Masterclasses exceeded expectations with 179 enrolments, with a high percentage from within Australia, along with many i